Live tweet image

The Sikh MP race – #GE2017

The Sikh Press Association will be tweeting about the UK General Election results LIVE through election night (June 8th after polls close at 10pm). As the votes are counted, we will be letting you know how the Sikh candidates have done in their constituencies and sharing election news relevant to the Sikh community.

Follow us via @SikhPA to keep up to date with the General Election Sikh story.

See below for details on the prospective Sikh candidates.

Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi is standing for Labour in Slough following the retirement of incumbent Fiona Mactaggart. This seat in Berkshire has been Labour since 1997 and has a large Sikh Punjabi population. The previous Labour MP here took the seat with nearly 50% of the vote.

In Wolverhampton South West, Paul Uppal (Conservative) is hoping to regain the seat that Labour won with the slender majority of 801 in 2015. Jagmeet Singh of the newly formed Panth Party is also contesting this marginal and all eyes in the community are on how this new candidate pledging a strictly Sikh ethos performs.

Either Tanmanjeet or Jagmeet could be the UK’s first ever turban wearing Sikh MP.

Preet Kaur Gill is contesting the marginal seat of Birmingham Edgbaston as a Labour Co-operative candidate. Labour held onto this seat in 2015 by under 3,000 votes. If elected she will become the UK’s first Sikh female MP.

Bally Singh (Labour) is standing in Kenilworth and Southam in Warwickshire. The seat is currently held by the Attorney General for England and Wales Jeremy Wright, who enjoys a comfortable majority for the Conservatives.

In Telford, Kuldip Sahota is standing for the Labour Party. The Conservatives currently hold this seat with a majority of less than 2%, making for a tight race.

Samir Jassal is the Conservative Party candidate for Feltham and Heston, a seat currently held by Labour’s Seema Malhotra with a majority of more than 11,000.

In the relatively new seat of Hornchurch and Upminster, Rocky Gill is standing for Labour against a 24% Conservative majority in the constituency.

Three Sikhs running for one seat! Looking to remove Labour’s Khalid Mahmood from a seat he has held since 2001 will be Harjun Singh, standing for the Lib Dems in Birmingham Perry Barr, where Vijay Rana runs for the Green Party along with Harjinder Singh for UKIP.

Manjinder Singh Kang is standing in Tewkesbury for the Labour Party, battling against a solid Conservative majority of nearly 22,000.

Having been runners up in 2015, Vijay Srao takes over from UKIP’s Chris Adams in Aylesbury, hoping to take them past the majority winning Conservatives.

Joe Harjinder Singh Naitta is standing in Derby South for the Lib Dems, looking to gain ground on his Labour, Conservative and UKIP counterparts who all bested his vote count in 2015.

Attempting to go from Councillor to MP is Reena Ranger for the Conservatives, running in Birmingham Hall Green, where she will need to oust the overwhelming Labour majority of 28,000 in 2015.

This year Arran Rangi becomes the first ever Green Party candidate to run in Ashfield this General Election.

In Warwick and Leamington Bob Dhillon will look to help UKIP claim back some of the Conservatives’ massive 24,000 majority.



Reena Ranger

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply